[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[InetBib] IEEE eScience Conference - eHumanities track

Apologies for cross-posting


IEEE eScience Conference: eHumanities Track
9-11 December 2009

Call for Papers

Researchers in the Humanities have embraced digital technologies for decades
and are continuing to do so in increasing numbers. Two workshops at earlier
IEEE eScience conferences, along with numerous other events, have given
interesting insights into these activities. However, advances in the digital
humanities have been rather fragmented, and have been tailored to specific
research questions and methodologies. In an attempt to connect the digital
islands that have thus emerged, this event will focus on applications and
infrastructures for re-usability, integration and interoperability of
research data for e-Humanities, addressing such issues as the
interoperability of existing tools to enable more complex workflows, and
shared virtual research environments for typical work environments of
Humanities scholars.

A multiplicity of large initiatives have already started addressing the these
issues, among them ANDS in Australia (http://ands.org.au/), Project Bamboo in
the USA (http://projectbamboo.org/), as well as the ESFRI-projects CLARIN
(http://www.clarin.eu/) and DARIAH
(http://www.dariah.eu/) in Europe, to name but a few. All these initiatives
are facing the huge problem of fragmentation and heterogeneity in research in
the Humanities, which has repercussions on formats and encodings for
datasets, the ways of analyzing phenomena and the traditions of scholarly
discourse. Not surprisingly these initiatives in particular try to get a
deeper understanding of layers of abstractions required which might address
the goal of harmonization on the one hand, without ignoring the specificities
of the various Humanities disciplines on the other hand.

This e-Humanities track aims to showcase projects that contribute to
e-Humanities, whether by providing integrated and interoperable
infrastructures, or by offering new types of applications making use of such
infrastructures and connecting the digital islands. At the same time this
track aims to trigger critical discussion and to move us forward in our goal
to establish an international e-Humanities debate. 
Submission of papers is invited from all stakeholders: humanities
researchers, technologists, as well as cultural heritage institutions and
e-Humanities/e-Infrastructure researchers.

Papers submitted for presentation on the workshop should report original
research that has not been published elsewhere. The submission guidelines can
be found at the official conference web-site: 

Acceptance and Publication
All papers submitted for presentation in the workshop will be reviewed. 
At least one author of each accepted submission must attend the workshop.
Accepted papers will be published in pre-conference proceedings published by
IEEE. Selected excellent work may be eligible for additional post-conference
publication as extended papers in selected journals, such as FGCS. The
organizers of the e-Humanities track are negotiating with publishers to take
care that all accepted papers will be published in a suitable journal.

Important dates
Deadline for submission of papers:              Friday, 31st July 2009
Notification of Acceptance: Tuesday             1st September 2009
Final submission of camera-ready papers:        Friday 18th September 2009
Conference and Workshop:                        9-11 December 2009

Chad Kainz            Bamboo, Univ. Chicago
Heike Neuroth         DARIAH, SUB Göttingen
Peter Wittenburg      CLARIN, MPI for Psycholinguistics, Nijmegen
Martin Wynne          CLARIN, Oxford Text Archive

Jost Gippert, Gerhard Lauer, Fotis Iannides, Erhard Hinrichs, Heike Neuroth,
Andreas Aschenbrenner, Claus Zinn, Gerhard Heyer, Peter Wittenburg (Germany),
Paul Doorenbosch, Peter Doorn, Marc Kemps-Snijders (Netherlands), Nuria Bel
(Spain), Nicoletta Calzolari (Italy), Chad Kainz, Sue Ellen Wright, Helen
Dry, Neil Fraistaat (USA), Stelios Piperidis (Greece), Sheila Anderson,
Tobias Blanke, Martin Wynne (UK), Bente Maegaard (Denmark), Marko Tadic
(Croatia), Tamas Varadi (Hungary), Gerhard Budin (Austria), Bruna Franchetto
(Brazil), Sven Strömquist (Sweden), Key-Sun Choi (Korea), Sadaoki Furui
(Japan), Laurent Romary (France), Chu Ren Huang (China), Linda Barwick,
Steven Bird (Australia), Susan Schreibman (Ireland)

Listeninformationen unter http://www.inetbib.de.