[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

[InetBib] OR2015 registration announcement ready to send out

OR2015 NEWS: Registration Opens; Speakers from Mozilla and Google Announced

We are pleased to announce that registration is now open for the 10th 
International Conference on Open Repositories, to be held on June 8-11, 2015 in 
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States of America. Full registration details and 
a link to the registration form may be found at: 

OR2015 is co-hosted by Indiana University Bloomington Libraries, University of 
Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library, and Virginia Tech Libraries.

OR2015 Registration and Fees:

An early registration fee of $450 USD will be available until May 8. After May 
8, the registration fee will increase to $500 USD. This registration fee covers 
participation in general conference sessions, workshops, and interest group 
sessions, as well as the conference dinner on Wednesday, June 10 and poster 
reception on Tuesday, June 9. For a draft outline of the conference schedule, 
please see: http://www.or2015.net/program/schedule-at-a-glance

Participants may register online at: http://www.or2015.net/registration. If you 
have any questions about registering for OR2015, please contact the Conference 
Registrar at iuconfs@xxxxxxxxxxx<mailto:iuconfs@xxxxxxxxxxx>. Any other 
questions about the conference may be directed to the conference organizing 
committee by using the form at: http://www.or2015.net/contact-us

Hotel Reservations:

The OR2015 conference will take place at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis hotel, 
conveniently located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis. Special room rates 
at the Hyatt starting at $159 USD per night have been negotiated for conference 
attendees and will be available for booking through May 16. More information on 
hotel reservations and travel is available at: 

Keynote and Featured Speakers:

Reflecting the significant milestone of the 10th Open Repositories conference 
and this year's theme of "Looking Back, Moving Forward: Open Repositories at 
the Crossroads," we are pleased to announce the conference's two plenary 

Kaitlin Thaney will be giving the opening keynote talk on the morning of 
Tuesday, June 9. Kaitlin is director of the Mozilla Science Lab, an open 
science initiative of the Mozilla Foundation focused on innovation, best 
practice and skills training for research. Prior to Mozilla, she served as the 
Manager of External Partnerships at Digital Science, a technology company that 
works to make research more efficient through better use of technology. Kaitlin 
also advises the UK government on infrastructure for data intensive science and 
business, serves as a Director for DataKind UK, and is the founding co-chair 
for the Strata Conference series in London on big data. Prior to Mozilla and 
Digitial Science, Kaitlin managed the science program at Creative Commons, 
worked with MIT and Microsoft, and wrote for the Boston Globe. You can learn 
more about the Science Lab at http://mozillascience.org  and follow Kaitlin 
online at @kaythaney.

Anurag Acharya will be the featured speaker at the plenary session on the 
morning of Wednesday, June 10, presenting on "Indexing repositories: pitfalls 
and best practices." Anurag is a Distinguished Engineer at Google and creator 
of Google Scholar, and he previously led the indexing group at Google. He has a 
Bachelors in Computer Science from the Indian Institute of Technology, 
Kharagpur and a PhD in Computer Science from Carnegie Mellon. Prior to joining 
Google, he was a post-doctoral researcher at the University of Maryland, 
College Park and an assistant professor at the University of California, Santa 

We look forward to seeing you at OR2015!

Jon Dunn, Julie Speer, and Sarah Shreeves
OR2015 Conference Organizing Committee

Holly Mercer, William Nixon, and Imma Subirats
OR2015 Program Co-Chairs


FIZ Karlsruhe - Leibniz-Institut für Informationsinfrastruktur GmbH.
Sitz der Gesellschaft: Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Amtsgericht Mannheim HRB 
Geschäftsführerin: Sabine Brünger-Weilandt.
Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: MinDirig Dr. Thomas Greiner.

Listeninformationen unter http://www.inetbib.de.